NEB&W Guide to Troy, NY - Second Street, Washington St. to Adams
Troy Street Directory Table of Contents
Troy Table of Contents
NEB&W Layout Table of Contents
Second Street (not to be confused with Second Avenue, which is in north Troy) starts at Monument Square and runs south. It has some of the best and most varied architecture anywhere.
Starting at Washington, the streets are named for Presidents heading south. Adams St. has traditionally been considered the division between downtown Troy proper and south Troy. To the north of Division was mostly upper middle-class houses, south was mostly blue-collar worker houses.
- Washington Park was a private park, owned by the residents surrounding it. This was the one of the very few such private parks. The only other known one is Gramercy Park in New York City.
The park was established in 1839 by 6 local businessment, based on common British practices at the time.
- The park was fronted on Washington Street on the north end, Washington Place at the south end, Second and Third Streets on the sides.
- The houses along the west side of the park are extremely ornate.
- The southwest corner of Washington St. and River was not your everyday rowhouse. This was actually the convent for St. Mary's on
- More of these, working south.
No. 187, Gilbert Mansion
- The fanciest house was built in 1856 for Uri Gilbert of Gilbert Car fame.
- Apparently at one time, there was a church here.
Gothic Revival Trio
- At the south end of the west side was another unique structure, or actually three rowhouses given the visual look of one. (If this was related to the church that used to be here, Gothic styling makes a lot of sense.) This complex was built in 1855. I believe these are nos. 201, 202, and 203 Second.
- The houses along the south side of the park were very unique. They were all Greek Revival forming a giant single unit (visually). Over time, some of the owners modified the exterior so the unity was broken.
This set of 10 rowhouses is known as Washington Place, built at the same time as the park, 1839-'40. See this section for more info.